

AIMP Announces Results of 2023-2024 Board of Directors Elections

Elections establish new Chapter in Atlanta, new Presidents in Los Angeles and Nashville, two new AIMP Bylaws amendments, and more

December 9, 2022 (Atlanta, Los Angeles, Nashville, New York) – The Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) has announced the results of its 2023-2024 Board of Directors elections, with the official creation of the Atlanta Chapter, new leadership teams taking charge at the Los Angeles and Nashville Chapters, the approval of two new amendments to the AIMP Bylaws, and multiple new Board members bringing fresh perspectives to Los Angeles, Nashville, and New York. In addition, the AIMP Executive Committee, which consists of each Chapter's President and Vice President, will meet in January 2023 to elect the Association's new National Chair.



From left: Michael Lau, Tony D. Alexander, Ree Guyer, and Marc Caruso

In Atlanta, this election marks the Chapter's official transition from Steering Committee to Board of Directors, with members voting to formally establish the AIMP Atlanta Chapter charter. It will be the AIMP's first new regional Chapter since Nashville was officially established in 2011, giving new voice to the independent music publishing community in the world capital of Hip-Hop. The Atlanta Chapter will finalize its first Board of Directors and Officers on December 16.

"After a productive and fulfilling year developing the Atlanta Steering Committee, I am thrilled that we are officially moving forward as the AIMP Atlanta Chapter," said Tony D. Alexander, Chair of the AIMP Atlanta Steering Committee. "I am inspired by the passion and diverse perspectives that the Atlanta independent music publishing community will bring to the table, and I cannot wait to see all that we achieve together as a Chapter over the coming years."

In Los Angeles, long-time Chapter head and President **Teri Nelson Carpenter** (Reel Muzik Werks) will step down after reaching her four-year term limit, passing the torch to **Marc Caruso** (Angry Mob Music), who previously served as the Chapter's Vice President. **Frank Handy** (Position Music) will transition from Chapter Treasurer into his newly elected role of Vice President. Board Member **Eric Polin** (Universal

Pictures) has been elected Chapter Secretary, and Jonathan Haskell (ALIBI Music) has been elected Chapter Treasurer. In addition, newly elected Board members Marjorie Garcia (King, Holmes, Paterno & Soriano, LLP) and Garrett Johnson, Esq. will join incumbents Todd Brabec, Esq.; Yvonne Drazan (peermusic); Ginia Eady-Marshall (Disney Music Publishing); Marla Ludwig (Sony Pictures Entertainment); Abby North (North Music Group); Barbie Quinn (BMI); and Michael Todd (ASCAP) on the Board. The Chapter's new Administration Director will be Juliet Lyons (Mystic Voyager Music).

"My time with the Los Angeles Chapter has been an extremely meaningful chapter for me personally and professionally," said Carpenter. "While it is bittersweet to see it come to a close, I know the Los Angeles Chapter is in incredible hands, and I look forward to continuing to cheer them on in all their endeavors."

In Nashville, long-time Chapter head and President John Ozier (Reservoir) will also step down after completing his four-year term, with Ree Guyer (Wrensong) taking over as President after previously serving as the Chapter's Vice President. Board member Duff Berschback (Concord Music Publishing) will step into the role of Vice President. Trina Smith Dort (Me Gusta Music) was elected to the role of Treasurer and Tim Hunze (Big Machine Music) was elected to the role of Secretary. Newly elected Board members include Trina Smith Dort, Janine Ebach (Ebach Entertainment), and Keithan Melton (Combustion Music), who will serve alongside returning Board members ET Brown (SESAC), Robert Carlton (SMACKSongs), Courtney Crist (Anthem Entertainment), Shannan Hatch (SESAC), Alex Heddle (Big Machine Music), Michael Martin (Endurance Music Group), Leslie Roberts (BMI), and Mike Sistad (ASCAP). Ozier will also remain on the Board as a member. The Chapter's new Administration Director will be Emily Boardman (River House Artists), and its Administration Assistant will remain Kendall Lettow (peermusic).

"I cannot believe how quickly eight years has flown by," said Ozier. "While the Nashville music community and the industry as a whole have faced so many challenges in recent years, I couldn't be prouder of all that we have achieved as a Chapter. I am happy to pass the torch to our incredible new leaders and am looking forward to continuing to work alongside them as a Board member."

In New York, each of the Chapter's four officers — Michael Lau (Imachew Music) as President, Debbie Rose (Sundae Songs, LLC) as Vice President, Art Levy (The Levy Firm) as Secretary, and Steven White (Janover, LLC) as Treasurer — were re-elected to another two-year term. Newly elected Board members Amber Charania (Downtown Music Holdings), David Hoffman (Reservoir), and Joanne Kelsey (Anthem Entertainment) will join incumbents Phil Cialdella (Wonderlous Music), Antonella Di Saverio (BMI), Joyce Dollinger (Kendrick & Baron), Jeff Pachman (Domino Publishing Company of America, Inc.), Brooke Primont (Concord Music Publishing), Melanie Santa Rosa (Word Collections), and Michael Simon (Harry Fox Agency / Rumblefish). The Chapter's new Administrative Director will be Leigh Cusick (Sundae Songs, LLC).

"I am honored to be chosen to serve another term as AIMP New York Chapter President and excited to work alongside our new Board to continue educating and representing the independent music publishing community in this amazing city," said Lau. "I am constantly impressed by all that our Chapters are able to accomplish both individually and together to create change and provide resources within the indie music publishing space. I also want to thank both John and Teri for their leadership at the Nashville and Los Angeles Chapters these past few years. I will miss their partnership on the executive level. I am very proud of the strides we made these past two years in effecting change as well as further developing the amazing working relationship between the chapters. You will be missed!"

The organization has also passed two new AIMP Bylaws amendments. The first amendment adjusts the definition of an independent music publisher, which all Chapter Presidents and Vice Presidents must fit. The second amendment allows Chapter Presidents, Vice Presidents, or Secretaries to apply to their Chapter's Nominating Committee for an extension beyond the current 4-year term limit.

For more information on the AIMP, visit www.aimp.org.

About AIMP

The Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) was formed in 1977 and has local chapters in Atlanta, Los Angeles, New York, and Nashville. The organization's primary focus is to educate and inform music publishers about the most current industry trends and practices by providing a forum for the discussion of the issues and problems confronting the music publishing industry. The opportunity to exchange ideas and opinions with others on issues of mutual concern is fostered by the atmosphere at the AIMP's monthly meetings, forums, and workshops, the videos of which can be seen (along with more general info on the organization) at www.aimp.org.

AIMP Media Contact

Laurie Jakobsen, Jaybird Communications — laurie@jaybirdcom.com, 646.484.6764
Bill Greenwood, Jaybird Communications — bill@jaybirdcom.com, 609.221.2374